House Price Crash Forum

Don't Buy Until The End Of The Year - Estate Agent Recommends

Peregrine

HOLA441

I have been househunting for a couple of months now, but have been reluctant to make any serious offers as the current media speculation is wavering between 'prices remain stable' and 'House crash imminent' headlines.

I am so fed up with being kept in the dark, that I decided that on my last property viewing, I would ask the agent showing me the property for an honest opinion (I wasn't expecting one!).

He was gob-smackingly honest in his reply and told me that

'I know I shouldn't be telling you this, but don't buy anything until September if you can help it.House prices have dropped 10% already since December and our vendors are desperate, they are knocking 40 to 50 Grand off their prices if you offer that to them.I reckon that as much as 30% could come off the prices.The market is in a s**t state.To be honest, I'm worried about my job.If you are in a rental than my advice is to stay there, if you don't have to move, then don't.Nobody is buying or selling unless they have to, normally at this time of year we have loads of people coming on to our books.Right now nobody is moving because nobody knows whats' happening'.

Blimey, straight from the horses mouth exactly what I needed to hear.Happily, my doubts are cleared up.I'm staying put and will rent until the end of the summer, bulk up my deposit and decide what to do then

Edited by Peregrine

HOLA442
HOLA443
HOLA444
HOLA445

oh I'm definitely a bull,

a very tethered one straining to buy a new home, and not wanting to believe the fluff and hype of the media.........

but my bearish friends, relatives - and now estate agent - are telling me to pause for a while before charging ahead to buy ;)

Thanks for the welcome :lol:

HOLA446

a very tethered one straining to buy a new home, and not wanting to believe the fluff and hype of the media.........