House Price Crash Forum

Denninger Goes Over The Fine Detail Of The Us Gdp Report

MOP

HOLA441
HOLA442

jp runs through the figs on fsn 3rd Hour Part 1 and comes to similar conclusions - consumer spending down / govt. spending up.

denninger reckons that when the penny clicks with equity investors, the markets will decline but as jp points out the inverse relationship between the $ and stoxx / commods has been a prominent feature for a while and thus if the $ index breaks the 78 support, markets and commods will most probably go higher

it's all about the $

edit - sp.

Edited by p.p.

HOLA443

Also he's critical of the Chinese recovereh!

No really? How long have I been banging on that drum - freight loadings both road and rail, along with port traffic data? That's the "leading indicator" and this report validates what I've been saying for the last three months: both import and export demand has effectively collapsed! We are now anywhere from 40 to 60% below comparable levels on imports and exports. Those who believe that "China will save us" are delusional; how is that going to work when half of their exports to us are gone? Bluntly: The alleged "Chinese recovery" is a manipulated lie from the Chinese government.

http://market-ticker.denninger.net/archive...uuuggghhhh.html

HOLA444

Manipulated Government GDP Statistics Report is Just Plain Wrong

..../....

OK - now let's look at the GDP report.

I am going to avoid all of the massive complexity that normally accompanies discussions of the GDP report and go for the simplest possible illustration of just how spectacularly off-base and misleading it is.

On television, and from a raft of well-meaning experts, you will hear explanations for why this GDP report makes sense and they will trot out things like an increase in government expenditures, falling imports, inventory builds and all the rest. But we can skip all that and simply look at one thing.

gdp-1-2.jpg