House Price Crash Forum

Ast Aggreement Notice Period

St.Ives

HOLA441

Can someone give me a definitive answer on this as there seems to be conflicting views on this question?

I have been renting for four years now and the tenancy has changed over from the fixed six month period to a month to month rolling contract. I always assumed that the notice period would be one month either way as it is a monthly rolling contract. I have just given the letting agency one months notice and been informed that the contact actually states I have to give two months notice. I have looked at the contract and this is indeed correct.

I know I should have read the contract and brought this up earlier but it does strike me as a bit unfair. There are not many landlords that would wait two months for a new tenant and it seems to me another way of screwing more money out of the tenant (along with agency fees at the start of the contract and the £25 the agency is charging me for referencing).

Is this actually legally binding? There seems to be some people who believe that The Housing Act states that the tenant only needs to give one months notice and as this is Statute law it supercedes the AST contract (contract law). Anyone know for sure?

HOLA442