House Price Crash Forum

Bass Buildings At Rv

MrCool

HOLA441

Hello Folks,

This is my first post on the forum..so, please go bit easy if I sound contrary to the opinion of the majority here.

I have been renting in Belfast for 5 years now. Been quite happy with the flexibility that I could move anytime. However, just getting bit tempted now with valuations of some city centre apartments.

Please don't ignore the post by branding me a bull. Offer your advice please.

I bid for an apt in bass buildings at RV. Though the landlord hasn't agreed to the bid, he came down pretty close to it.

BTW, RV for 2bed is 130K and 3bed is 140K.

With 20K deposit,

(interest on mortgage + rates + mgmnt fee) = my current rent.

(The above calculation is based on a tracker baserate+0.85%; I have an agreement in principle for this mortgage

prior to the recent rate cut. If the offer is withdrawn, I'll be back to drawing board)

One of friends sold a 3 bed apt in bass buildings for 235K in 2007. He had bought it for 150K in 2003.

1. What do u think of the apts at RV value? It appears to be atleast 40% below the 2007 price.

2. The purchase price in 2003 was 150K; but the RV set in 2005 is 140K. Is RV a conservative estimate of the prices in 2005? May be my friend would have got bit aggressive in bidding.

3. Any comment on the construction quality of bass buildings?

4. When do u think the interest rates would go up?

Thank you

HOLA442

The only honest advice anyone here can give you is that if you have done your sums (only you know what your income and expenditure is) and you believe you can afford to purchase the flat then the question you are left with is "should I?"

Well assuming that you can afford it the answer to whether you should buy it or not depends on how you see your life going over the next 5-10 years. Are you going to get married (perhaps you already are), or maybe you might have kids. Perhaps you might want to change career.