House Price Crash Forum

Calling All Contractors

I worked as an contractor about 3 years ago and then went into full time employment, However I am now back in the contracting market and the pay rates are shocking. For example a job that was paying £30ph 3 years ago is now paying £45ph thats 13.33% per year inflation which I hope you will agree reflects the true rate of inflation(Not CPI,RPI), Merv can try to restrict the big orgs with threats of IR rise but contracting reflects the true market. Inflation is rampant !, I've just had a "Wake up and smell the coffee moment".

Edited by sithclone7
I worked as an contractor about 3 years ago and then went into full time employment, However I am now back in the contracting market and the pay rates are shocking. For example a job that was paying £30ph 3 years ago is now paying £45ph thats 13.33% per year inflation which I hope you will agree reflects the true rate of inflation(Not CPI,RPI), Merv can try to restrict the big orgs with threats of IR rise but contracting reflects the true market. Inflation is rampant !, I've just had a "Wake up and smell the coffee moment".

There are squaddies fighting and dying in the sandboxes for little over 6 quid an hour. Wind your neck in and be grateful for that £45.

all very well ...but what about availability ?

Indeed.

Are we talking IT? If so, it depends what you do. In my market, the short term rates certainly seem to have shot up, but quality work is hard to find. I've been on the bench for a few weeks now, and am faced with the choice of holding out for what I think is a decent rate, or taking less and getting back to work.

Contractors are part of a very fortunate minority