House Price Crash Forum
stevo

Harder To Get Cash Out?

Hello,

Over the last 6 months I have been withdrawing fairly large amounts of cash (2-6k) to pay for the ongoing building work I am having done to my home. I am not a property developer before anyone chirps up!

Earlier in the year I had minimal fuss if I wanted to withdraw cash but now I have to jump through all sorts of hoops to get my cash.

Firstly, has anyone else noticed this?

And secondly, When I spoke to the cashier about why it takes ages she mentioned that it is rare that people withdraw large amounts. Is it really rare for people to pay cash for big things?

They have to abide by money laundering regulations, but it does seem more likely that they don't want to lose your custom!

The fact you say the amounts are £2-6k is crucial. I think the trigger is £5k. At this point, they ask a lot of questions.

There used to be a trigger of £500 when buying currency to ask for details but recently, M&S, Thomson, etc. want your address, phone no and shoe size for the slightest amount of foreign currency. They said its a change in the Money Laundering Act. <_<

The fact you say the amounts are £2-6k is crucial. I think the trigger is £5k. At this point, they ask a lot of questions.

There used to be a trigger of £500 when buying currency to ask for details but recently, M&S, Thomson, etc. want your address, phone no and shoe size for the slightest amount of foreign currency. They said its a change in the Money Laundering Act. <_<

So what happens if you want to take out £30k or more? Do you have to jump through loads of hoops to get your money?

When I was trying to withdraw money for a deposit I had to phone the branch the day before so they would have enough cash. I think they keep less cash behind the counter than they used to because everybody pays on a debit or credit card these days. It's annoying though, as banks are supposedly where your money is. Northern Rock knows all about that.