House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
mattyboy1973

Loan Writeoffs And Their Effect On The Money Supply

Like many I am a novice in these matters and confused about what the effects of loan write downs really is on the money supply and ergo price inflation, and what difference government bailouts might make.

I have some questions:

1. If a loan (eg a mortgage) is written off by the bank - this money stays in the money supply (if it was paid back, the original loan amount would be written off ('disappeared'), and the interest retained by the bank??) - if this is correct, why are loan write-downs deflationary?

To follow up 1. - an explanation often touted is that the bank cannot then further lend (after a write down), and that its capacity to lend is reduced 9 times (or insert fractional reserve requirement figure) due to the requirements of fractional lending. Is this true? Why would it be true that the bank can lend 9x its reserve for the purposes of this loan, but if the loan is not paid back it effectively loses its reserve capacities x 9 ? Why is this not a 1-1 ratio to its future lending capacity, therefore (with money left 'in the system' as a result of 1, a net zero effect on the money supply?)

3. If the bank is 'bailed out' by some entity (the goverment), lets say this wipes out the losses incurred in 1. - does this then mean the bank can lend again, without the money lent in 1. being 'disappeared' as it is repaid to the bank? Then - this must be inflationary, or at least it would be just as soon as the bank manages to lend the money to another 3rd party?

These may be extremely naive questions but if anyone genuinely knows the answers I would be very interested, thanks.

A loan will consist of two book entries i its simplest form

The debt to the borrower- an asset

The pledge is secured- a liability.

say the laon is for £100 the bank has an asset earning interes of £100+interest.

It has a liability of £100