House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Peridot

Landlord Visited Without Telling Me

This is my first post on HPC although I've been visiting the site for 18 months and am now addicted! Any advice would be much appreciated. I moved into a rented property one month ago (I STR'd). The letting agent is in some way connected with the property but am not sure how - his office address is on the lease but he originally stated the house is owned by a farmer. This morning I noticed that the latch on the gate to the back garden was not as I left it and had been oiled. Also, a freestanding trellis (4.5 foot high) which I had bought to block off the second access to rear (no gate) had moved. Obviously someone has squeezed past to gain access to the back garden within the last 7 days.

The house I live in is in a small village, quite wealthy and strangers would be noticed so I think it's either the landlord or his workmen. I was not told that anyone needed to gain access to the property and the lease states that I must be given 24 hours' notice in writing unless it's an emergency. On 7th July I was asked to move the trellis for a period of one week to allow a gutter to be cleaned. As far as I know this had been completed and I moved the trellis immediately back and cleared up the significant mess left behind. There has been no correspondence with the agent since then.