House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
scully74

25% Off Asking Price

Hello

I'm a newbie but have been visiting this site for about 6 months.

We sold our house last year to relocate and are currently renting. Our lease is due to expire in Sept and we've seen a house we love but we can only afford max 80% of the asking price. We offered this on Sunday and were told a flat no. The vendors have had an offer accepted on a house they want for near to the asking price so they say they can't afford to budge. However, they're back on the market because their sale fell through just before exchange because their original purchaser lost his mortgage offer. (originally came on market in Feb)

I'd love thoughts on what to do, either sign up for rented house for a further 6 or 12 months or look for a house with an asking price nearer our budget.

Funny that the BBC guest said yesterday to offer 25% lower than the asking price - we were effectivly laughed out of the place!

Hello

We sold our house last year to relocate and are currently renting. Our lease is due to expire in Sept and we've seen a house we love but we can only afford max 80% of the asking price. We offered this on Sunday and were told a flat no. The vendors have had an offer accepted on a house they want for near to the asking price so they say they can't afford to budge. However, they're back on the market because their sale fell through just before exchange because their original purchaser lost his mortgage offer. (originally came on market in Feb)

I'd love thoughts on what to do, either sign up for rented house for a further 6 or 12 months or look for a house with an asking price nearer our budget.

Funny that the BBC guest said yesterday to offer 25% lower than the asking price - we were effectivly laughed out of the place!

Laugh back and say 'see you at the auctions'

:rolleyes:

Rent something.....you'll save a fortune if you wait to buy.......and you'll get more for your money...