House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
dom

Major - "official Inflation Figures Could Not Be Trusted."

Sir John poured scorn on the Prime Minister's claim that Britain was uniquely well-placed to weather the storm, claiming the public finances had been so badly mismanaged that there was no room for tax cuts or spending increases to jump-start the economy.I think we're going to be very close to recession, if not technically in recession, two quarters of negative growth,' he said,

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10...al-figures.html

CPI predictions for next week?

CPI predictions for next week?
Major was quite good on the Marr programme, I thought. Funny to think history might view him much more kindly than either Blair or Brown given his dull & incompetent countenance as lampooned by Spitting Image etc.

I'm no expert, but I'd have to predict inflation has to be up, up, up. May 2007's CPI was 2.8 down from April's 2.5 on the back of weakening food, clothing, gas and electricity prices. So, assuming it works by losing the May 07 adjustments, I'd have to guess 3.6 for CPI and 4.6 for RPI for this month. What a difference a year makes. :o

edit: typo

Edited by Avon

Major was quite good on the Marr programme, I thought. Funny to think history might view him much more kindly than either Blair or Brown given his dull & incompetent countenance as lampooned by Spitting Image etc.

I'm no expert, but I'd have to predict inflation has to be up, up, up. May 2007's CPI was 2.8 down from April's 2.5 on the back of weakening food, clothing, gas and electricity prices. So, assuming it works by losing the May 07 adjustments, I'd have to guess 3.6 for CPI and 4.6 for RPI for this month. What a difference a year makes. :o

Still haunted by visions of Major knocking off Edwina Currie..

i'm on 3.7%

consensus is 3.6% but petrol was up 5% and british retail consortium survey said that yoy rate of food price inflation jumped another 1%...