House Price Crash Forum
Now or never

Uk Economics - Where Do I Start?

I've always believed there was something wrong with the housing market when I was unable to purchase a house from my uncle at a discounted price in 2003 yet those around me were buying more expensive properties on a lesser income; the outcome of it all was that I was being honest! Anyway I stumbled across this site early this year and since have become a daily logger (no jokes please!). I'm an engineer and have had no real interest in economics, well not until now; since joining this site I've learnt so much and find it so fascinating that I would now like to self educate. I was wondering if anybody could kindly advise a good starting point or reference any books that could be easily digested by a beginner?

I've always believed there was something wrong with the housing market when I was unable to purchase a house from my uncle at a discounted price in 2003 yet those around me were buying more expensive properties on a lesser income; the outcome of it all was that I was being honest! Anyway I stumbled across this site early this year and since have become a daily logger (no jokes please!). I'm an engineer and have had no real interest in economics, well not until now; since joining this site I've learnt so much and find it so fascinating that I would now like to self educate. I was wondering if anybody could kindly advise a good starting point or reference any books that could be easily digested by a beginner?

http://www.chrismartenson.com/crashcourse

Is a good overview of our current situation from a very broad perspective.

Start with some general books on economics - I'd suggest avoiding the web to start with since there's a lot of crackpot stuff out there presenting itself as mainstream. Here's a couple that I've read that are ok:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Economist-Economic...327&sr=8-10

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Essentials-Economi...327&sr=8-16