House Price Crash Forum
gruffydd

Bristol Housing Market Falls Through The Floor-merged Thread

I've been tracking an inner-city part of Bristol for over 3 years - it saw a massive upswing in prices 1.5-2 years ago - I saw one property flipped over a 3 month period - bought at 150 - sold at 200. It's an area touted as up and coming, but I've always had severe doubts about that claim.

Now, I've just done a check and there are NO ONWARD CHAIN 2 beds available in the area for 135-140k. And falling. And those are asking prices. EA pals down in Fishpants are telling me that offers are coming in way below asking prices. Totally stunned!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thought I was hallucinating!

PS> Does anyone know what is happening to prices around Bristol - Weston, Chippenham, Chipping Sod, etc?

Edited by gruffydd

I've been keeping an eye on 3 bed detached houses in N Bristol and Chippenham with Property Bee. North Bristol seems to be most active in terms of falls - in the last week, a couple of 7.5% (15k) falls in asking prices, but most are still between 5-10k reductions. I'm seeing an incredible amount listed as NO CHAIN, so it's looking pretty exciting at the moment...

The message doesn't seem to have filtered through to Chippenham yet - nearly all the changes recorded by Property Bee are to the description, not the price.

I've been tracking an inner-city part of Bristol for over 3 years - it saw a massive upswing in prices 1.5-2 years ago - I saw one property flipped over a 3 month period - bought at 150 - sold at 200.

I'm interested in this area - but haven't "tracked" much. Which inner-city part of Bristol are you on about?

A few years ago I tracked prices of decent flats in Sneyd Park - but they rapidly went from 'slightly expensive' to monster-raving-loony expensive - almost doubling within about 18 months - as I remember it.