House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest pioneer31

Who Gets The Place First?

Guest pioneer31

Sorry for the dumb questions but I'm new to the 'Letting Agent' thing.

If more than one person shows interest in a flat, who gets it? The first one to sign and show the money, I presume? or do bidding wars develop?

The reason I ask is that I'm currently viewing places and keep being told that 'others are viewing too'. One place has just come up and it looks superb but I fear that if it's right for me, then I'll have to sprint down to the LA's office with my cheque book?

Also, can you tell me how to 'keep up with the rest'. ie Just looking on the web is no use, others are ringing every day, camping outside the office etc just to see the 'new stuff that has come in'. I haven't the time to ring round every day. Is there a special trick I can use, as I'm aware some stuff never makes it to the agents website.

Sorry for the dumb questions but I'm new to the 'Letting Agent' thing.

If more than one person shows interest in a flat, who gets it? The first one to sign and show the money, I presume? or do bidding wars develop?

The reason I ask is that I'm currently viewing places and keep being told that 'others are viewing too'. One place has just come up and it looks superb but I fear that if it's right for me, then I'll have to sprint down to the LA's office with my cheque book?

Also, can you tell me how to 'keep up with the rest'. ie Just looking on the web is no use, others are ringing every day, camping outside the office etc just to see the 'new stuff that has come in'. I haven't the time to ring round every day. Is there a special trick I can use, as I'm aware some stuff never makes it to the agents website.

Sounds to me like your starting the believe the agents BS. The only problem with the web (particuarly with lettings) is that they leave stuff on which went weeks ago.