House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
PutneyJoe

Fixed Or Tracker?

Hi, Newbie here, apologies if this is the wrong kind of question for the forum...

My nice 4.9% fixed mortgage expires in April and I need to get a new one. Halifax are offering me a fixed or a tracker. The fixed is a better deal assuming rates go up or stay where they are, the tracker would be better if they go down, as I understand it the tracker is 1.5% above BoE so if BoE goes down it goes down. I can do either between 2 or 5 years.

I was thinking of the fixed (6.64% no fee, 6.24 with £499 fee 6.09% with £999 fee) for 2 years but now I'm wondering if the tracker (6.74 -> 6.30%) is the better option...I just wondered if there was a consensus of opinion...

Any views much appreciated.

there are much better deals out there at the moment. grab one of them while they are still available, unless you are a sub-prime borrower in which case you are probably screwed.

Personally I would go with a tracker as I think that the BOE will be forced to cut rates as the economy tanks and inflation targeting goes out the window.

Hi, Newbie here, apologies if this is the wrong kind of question for the forum...

My nice 4.9% fixed mortgage expires in April and I need to get a new one. Halifax are offering me a fixed or a tracker. The fixed is a better deal assuming rates go up or stay where they are, the tracker would be better if they go down, as I understand it the tracker is 1.5% above BoE so if BoE goes down it goes down. I can do either between 2 or 5 years.

I was thinking of the fixed (6.64% no fee, 6.24 with £499 fee 6.09% with £999 fee) for 2 years but now I'm wondering if the tracker (6.74 -> 6.30%) is the better option...I just wondered if there was a consensus of opinion...

Any views much appreciated.

Again, much better deals out there. This sounds expensive.

Fee or no fee basically depends on the size of your mortgage.