House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Buddleia

Whither Sterling?

This is something that has been weighing on my mind a bit recently. I earn Euros, but hold some Sterling that I might need in the future converted to Euros. So I have been miffed to see the inexorable decline of Sterling against the Euro.

I'm no currency expert - but if the southern satellites like Spain and fantasy lands like Ireland are forced out of the Euro-zone ... won't that make the Euro STRONGER as it will be more tightly bonded to the German economy and other work-horses like Holland?

This is something that has been weighing on my mind a bit recently. I earn Euros, but hold some Sterling that I might need in the future converted to Euros. So I have been miffed to see the inexorable decline of Sterling against the Euro.

I'm no currency expert - but if the southern satellites like Spain and fantasy lands like Ireland are forced out of the Euro-zone ... won't that make the Euro STRONGER as it will be more tightly bonded to the German economy and other work-horses like Holland?

A few points to note:

(1) GBP/EUR is not directly determined by New Labour or other lunatics; in fact, the currency rate contains bazillions of views, demand/supply, GBP and EUR interest rate forecasts etc etc etc u name it. Currency markets are some of the more efficient ones to reflect true value of a particular (freely floating) currency. Those who are very assertive about further decline in GBP/EUR may be right, but then it won't be because the market is blind and stupid not knowing where GBP/EUR should be. It'll be because of future flows, new economic information etc that 'the market' is currently unaware of.