House Price Crash Forum
longisland

Another First Time Buyer Writes.......

Hey all

Been here a few months and wanted to share my thoughts and views on house prices. Can't say I'm an expert on house prices, but then again, I doubt any of us have a crystal ball that's shinier then anyone else!

Anyway, amidst all the doom and gloom on here I though I would write a contrary and perhaps optimistic post on why I have just bought a property.

Now, before you all start feeling sorry for me I have been following property prices for a year, and feel that the current debate has been slightly polarised with some very broad brush strokes.

Incase your wondering, my house was bought in Norwich (I work in London). What were my main drivers:-

a) Cost of buying has reached the point where for me, it become cheaper to buy then rent. If interest rates continue to drop, I see the differential widening further which made the stimulus to buy now even greater.

B) The property I bought was on the market for less then 2 weeks. That is not a typo - 2 weeks! In that time, it had 2 offers - one fractionally below asking price and my own. What does that tell us - that first time buyers are still active and are looking to get on the property ladder - albiet at the right price for the right type of property.

c) Location, location, location! Ok, I'll be the first to admit, property in Norwich is depressed right now due to a reasonably large overhang of trendy yuppy riverside flats. And yet, as with all things, its not merely a question of finding a cheap property. This property was located on one specific road that we had been looking to purchase on for over a year. Infact we would probably have paid above asking price if it had gone to a bidding war.