House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
ReggiePerrin

10% Deposits Now The Norm

Mrs Perrin, who works in mortgage admin, reported tonight that most of the main lenders today gave notice that they're withdrawing their 95% LTV mortgages. A 10% deposit will be the norm from now on.

Even during the last crash I can't remember lenders not excepting a 5% deposit for a house purchase, things must be REALLY bad for them. My heart bleeds :-)

Hello Reggie and Mrs Perrin

I'm a newbie with less than 10 posts, had to reply to your post though.

I like some of the anecdotal stuff, it is often a good reflection of what will be coming up in the next few weeks when it is from people who are working at the coal face.

Mr's Perrin obviously sees the latest actions the banks are taking.

This is very good news for the burst, and I would like to hear details and facts as they come- which banks, % of LTV and any other important info and the links.

Would you keep us up to speed as soon as you have details, could be a good thread.

Thanks

Yakov

Some more info from the front line.

• 12 months ago they were handling 18 applications a day, 5 per day is now considered busy.
  • Of those 5 applications, about 60% will be refused by the lender.
  • Lenders are not bothering to tell the brokers that products are about to be pulled, before they gave a couple of weeks notice, this changed to a few hours, now the broker only finds out when an application is submitted. The brokers now have to fill in application forms over the phone with the client to ensure they can get the application in before the product is pulled. Application forms mailed to clients and then posted back will invariably fail.
  • A client can be refused a mortgage if the lender thinks the client is not financially astute, even if the they can meet the affordibility criteria, e.g. if they have loans/debts greater than 50% of income (This is new).