House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Velgud

Usage Ratios For Silver

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to HPC and am quite young and very inexperienced in economics.

As almost everyone on this board, I firmly believe there will be a significant house price correction, but also feel that we are going to see a considerable amount of inflation over the next few years.

I am an absolute novice in terms of investing, literally, I have never before invested in anything other than myself (learning new skills etc). I have spent the last couple of years trying to clear my mortgage balance and am almost there, but now feel the time is right to slow up on the balance payments and start using some of the saved money to invest in inflation beating investments. Pre Christmas I had hoped to buy gold but had a few slow business payments and by the time I received them gold shot from 784 to around 900 and is now around 960. I dont know enough about gold investment but common sense would suggest I have somewhat missed the boat.

The more I read, the more I feel that silver is the way forward and I am considering to soon buy around 15kg. I like the idea that it is a utility as well as a precious metal. Most notably its uses in computers and other techs (China demand), war machines (US demand lol) and medical equipment (European demand). I also believe that demand is increasingly higher in ratio to supply and therefore would presume that regardless of a predicted drop in value of our monetary systems that silver should continually rise. So it would seem the lower geared gamble is a relatively safe bet and the higher geared gamble would be a welcome bonus.

My concerns are that during a recession, I can only presume that Western demand for jewelery and electronics would fall considerably. Therefore I think that before I make any firm decisions on what to do I should learn the usage ratios of silver, i.e. what percentages of silver is used in each industry and continent.