House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
mush32

What Are The Key Factors That Should Be Put Into A Housing Price Model

Hi

I'm a university student and i'm trying to work out what factors should be put into the perfect house price model? I can think of interest rates, consumer confidence etc. But am struggling for other ideas. Any suggestions?

Guest DissipatedYouthIsValuable
Hi

I'm a university student and i'm trying to work out what factors should be put into the perfect house price model? I can think of interest rates, consumer confidence etc. But am struggling for other ideas. Any suggestions?

Admit that your university is really a polytechnic.

I'm sure the girth of Kirsty Allsopp's **** will be a variable.

Edited by DissipatedYouthIsValuable

The list of influencing factors is endless, like most things in economica because, at the end of the day, the sole driving factor is what people are willing to do and if think you can create a perfect model of human behaviour you're very much deluded.

Edited by jon211

The list of influencing factors is endless, like most things in economica because, at the end of the day, the sole driving factor is what people are willing to do and if think you can create a perfect model of human behaviour you're very much deluded.

i dont for a second think i can create a perfect model, just trying to work out if there's anything else i can suggest that should be accounted for. It just seems that timing is key when predicting future house prices as many commentators would tell u. I've also tried to prove that there will be a crash in the market. but as i'm not using econometrics it's a bit harder.

Short-term: (<5 years horizon)

Credit-limit + interest rate => "Is the first month payment affordable"

Throw in some +ve feedback for herd/momentum/sheeple crowd modelling

Greed/fear feedback factors will have different strengths (fear>greed)

Long-term: (>5 years)