House Price Crash Forum

New To Renting.....advice Needed

equitystasher

After STRing and moving back in with parents in June I am now looking for a two bedroom flat to rent with my girlfriend in the Brighton area.

Having not rented before I have looked through this forum and at the shelter/citizens advice to try and get a feel for what its all about.

I am looking to rent longer than 6 months so I assume this classes as a long term rent agreement. There seems to be plenty of information on AST as the majority seem to enter into this. Is this for a particular reason that is in the renters best interest? Ideally I would like a term of a year at least as I want a bit of stability so any advice on long term contracts (if this applies) would be very helpful.

Also bearing in mind I am a complete novice other advice that you may think will be of use to a novice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

After STRing and moving back in with parents in June I am now looking for a two bedroom flat to rent with my girlfriend in the Brighton area.

Having not rented before I have looked through this forum and at the shelter/citizens advice to try and get a feel for what its all about.

I am looking to rent longer than 6 months so I assume this classes as a long term rent agreement. There seems to be plenty of information on AST as the majority seem to enter into this. Is this for a particular reason that is in the renters best interest? Ideally I would like a term of a year at least as I want a bit of stability so any advice on long term contracts (if this applies) would be very helpful.

Also bearing in mind I am a complete novice other advice that you may think will be of use to a novice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Three thoughts: