House Price Crash Forum

This question is highly personal and possibly intrusive I know, if it's a problem for you I'd suggest not answering. The reason I'm interested is that as a mortgage-broker I feel obliged to declare how I earn my crust in this type of forum, I think the same would go for an EA.

I've noticed a lot of blanket criticism of, in particular, EAs. Dismissed as gel-haired wearers of cheap suits and spivs, I've often wondered what those who criticise do that is some damn worthy. Also I'd be interested in what people's perception is when it comes to the security of their job in the coming recession and indeed if they are thinking of re-training or moving to a different sector.

mods - this is probably off-topic and possibly inapropriate please move if necessary.

• Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm reminded of an old joke: One woman says to her colleague, "Why do people always hate me when I say I'm a lawyer?" The other woman replies, "It just saves time."

If you're not embarrassed by what you do, then it doesn't matter, does it? I imagine that the sort of people who invite you to dinner parties probably already know, or have met you somehow through work, so there's no problem.

That said, stereotypes sometimes (often?) have a basis in fact. I have met more than a few EAs who conform to stereotype, particularly w.r.t. hair and suits, but also plenty who don't. To the best of my knowledge I've never met a mortgage broker.

As for recession-proof jobs, mine isn't. I'm in publishing, though I've been running my own business for years so I think I have the skills to muddle through for a couple of years.

Some years ago the US Chief Justice Warren Burger was asked by a member of the public why lawyers were so corrupt in the United States. Warren said that America has the exact kind of lawyers that the people have decided they want.