House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Saberu

Property Speculators Will Still Earn Money In A Crash

We all know it, the current system is flawd. And we are all talking about price crashes of 40% as a possibility but not many people have touched on the principle of land and property prices. I'm only a layman and have very little knowledge of ecnomonics so I would appreciate an answer as to why my proposal couldn't work in theory, ignoring that people wouldn't be willing to sacrafice the equity already in their properties.

The main problem with housing is (and land) is that it's a commercial item, it's price is dictated by the market. And this open plan pricing strategy has allowed banks and people alike to turn property into an investment tool and obviously also allowed the government to bribe the public. So I would argue it's the biggest issue our country (and perhaps the wider world) faces in terms of corruption as it's not just our country with rising property prices.

I propose a new system whereby all non-commercial use property is priced based on building cost, and a very minimal land cost which doesn't reflect demand and supply but just makes things affordable. And the lower cost would be ~ 25% of current property values.