House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Daltski

Cnbc/bloomberg

I'm sure they have disclaimers all over the place but these financial channels are as responsible as any Fed official, corporate CEO etc for the misleading reports and analysis that drives the average investor into believing that every dip in equities is a buying opportunity.

I'm a equity trader for an investment bank and find myself watching these channels most evening (I don't get out much!) and the way that daily financial events are reported and analysed are nothing short of sensationalist. I'm sure many of you saw Jim Cramers rant on CNBC and that is represents perfectly how these programmes have become more about entertainment than reporting the facts. I watched a panel of 5 supposedly seasoned professionals (ex-Fund Mgrs, traders etc) debate on whether the initial falls a couple of weeks back were the beginning of a bear mkt or if the bull mkt was still intact. They used Godzilla to represent the bull and King Kong the bear. The conclusion, Godzilla always wins and King Kong dies in the end!!!! Talk about dumbing down.