House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
starsign

Average House Price To Average Salaries

I see quite frequently on this site the comparison of average house prices to average salaries, with house prices usually over 5 X and up to 10X salaries. This is given as evidence that things have gone too far. The trouble with this info is that it completely ignores the equity that the average homeowner has, so it is completely misleading. In addition, FTBers do not buy the average house, so this is not useful to understand that situation either.

I was readng the "We Are Only Two Turns Of The Credit Screw" topic and saw the link to http://www.creditaction.org.uk/debtstats.htm which had some data that I think is more relevant: average mortgages for individualy who currently have a mortgage. The data is:

"Average outstanding mortgage for the 11.7m households who currently have mortgages is £96,648"

I am not an expert of their data but assuming that we can take it as a guide, then as the average house costs around £210K (this will include people who don't have mortgages, I guess) this would suggest that people have an average of approx 50% equity in their homes.

To me the figure of average mortgage to salary does not seem too alarming, especially if you consider that the average house must be purchased by more than one person (min =1, max=2?, so somewhere in between 1 and 2).

I am not for one minute suggesting that there are not people who have stretched themselves too far and who won't struggle after the IR rises, just that I think you have to allow for equity whenever we talk of average house prices and average salaries, we are deluding oursleves if we don't.

To me the figure of average mortgage to salary does not seem too alarming, especially if you consider that the average house must be purchased by more than one person (min =1, max=2?, so somewhere in between 1 and 2).

Really? And yet demand is being driven by record numbers of people living alone.