House Price Crash Forum
dark$sky

How Do House Prices Boost The Economy?

I've read countless posts here about how the UK economy is propped up by houseprices. I want to know is how do high house prices help the economy?

All I can see is that people borrow excessive amounts from the banks which obviously enriches lenders and also benefits the people at the top of a chain who sell and pocket the cash. However, everyone else just takes on huge amounts of debt.

How can the economy be good if nearly half of the money you earn is given to the lenders? It leaves less spending money for other parts of the economy.

I'm not very good at economics so can someone please explain?

I've read countless posts here about how the UK economy is propped up by houseprices. I want to know is how do high house prices help the economy?

All I can see is that people borrow excessive amounts from the banks which obviously enriches lenders and also benefits the people at the top of a chain who sell and pocket the cash. However, everyone else just takes on huge amounts of debt.

How can the economy be good if nearly half of the money you earn is given to the lenders? It leaves less spending money for other parts of the economy.

I don't know that it's high house prices, as much as rising house prices and high transaction levels:

- owners borrow against their ever-more valuable asset and so consume more

- ever more commission to EAs and mortgage brokers (and more tax for the treasury)

- lots of business and jobs in the building/development sector.

You are mistaken.

You are very good at economics. You just noticed something that a very large proportion of the UK population have completely failed to realise - high house prices do not help the economy. :)