House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
RightToExistInASpace

Tax Breaks For Landlords

I'm trying to work out how the buy-to-let market is in any way viable for "investors" at the moment. To do this I'd like to work out the numbers on a typical one bedroom flat. Can anyone explain how tax breaks work for landlords? Is it as simple as getting the income tax back on the mortgage payments and maintenance costs?

My position - A first time buyer who can't believe that he keeps seeing one bedroom flats sold and then back on the market for rent a few weeks later.

Guest wrongmove
Surely someone can answer this? Of all the housing market pundits here, surely someone has an idea of one of the most fundamental factors in keeping btl going?

I'm no expert on this (to put it mildly :P)), but I like your username, so I will have a pop :P

As I understand it, BTL is taxed as a business, so a BTLer only pays tax on their profit, not on their turnover. The interest portion of any debt (but not any capital repayment portion) is classed as a business expense, and is there fore deductable against any losses.

What this means is that if a BTL "earns" say £500 pcm from his rent, but also pays £500 pcm in interest, his profit, and hence his tax bill, is zero.

If a BTL "earns" £600 pcm, and pays £500, they will only be taxed on the £100 pcm profit, etc.

However, A BTL must pay capital gains tax on any profit when they sell the property (an owner occupier does not).

Can anyone confirm or correct this?

Edited by wrongmove

Or to put it another way if a buy to let landlord spends money on maintaining or repairing his property or fitting it out with furniture etc for his tenant he can offset the costs against his annual taxbill.

An ordinary homeowner by contrast cannot claim tax relief i.e. they have to pay for these expenses out of their taxed income. Although homeowners don't of course pay capital gains tax when they sell if it is their main residence so it isn't all bad!.