Jump to content
House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

me me me

Overcrowded Trains

Recommended Posts

Hi Yall

I just wanted to share the response I got from SE trains regarding passenger numbers, this bird is a dense as the core of neptune! What are we up against!

My 1st email

Nearly every day the 0822hrs and 0843hrs from Herne Hill to

Blackfriars is late and totally heaving with passengers. Health and

safety is completely out of the window with trains this laden. As a

monthly ticket holder travelling at rush hour I expect a seat from time

to time but I havent been able to enjoy this "seat" for months. How can

my ticket therefore cost the same as someone seated, there is clearly

not too much in the way of forecasting. What other services expect you

to pay the same for an inferior service....correct, just trains! Do

people stand on a plane when there isnt enough room?

As a ticket holder I expect the trains to run on time considering I did

not receive a 5% discount this quarter,as your apparent punctuality was

above the minimum which I find impossible to believe. Since when did

Peter Mandelson take charge of your statistics? What your company is

making possible is that your appalling service could cost me my job as

you continually deliver me late to my destination, thus to work. I

really hate your trains and your subsidy. The trains are shoddy, without

adequate seating, dirty, late and slow. If you are able to brighten my

dark travelling days with some proposed journey enhancement rhetoric I

await with breath baited.

South Eastern response

Thank you for your website feedback. I am sorry for any discomfort that

you have experienced during the course of your journeys because of

crowded conditions you have encountered. We do want our customers to

travel in comfort and appreciate the anxiety that is caused by such

conditions.

Like most commuter-focused operators, overcrowding is a problem for us.

The rail network in the South East area is currently working at full

capacity and so we are unable to run more frequent services. The number

of usable carriages we have is also finite. Certain services will

inevitably be much more popular than others and so our train planners

work hard to ensure that we deliver the appropriate amount of capacity

where the demand exists. However, there are occasions when trains are

short formed because of a shortage of suitable rolling stock, or

alternatively it may be necessary to utilise carriages from a longer

train when there is a shortage elsewhere, and I do apologise for the

inconvenience this causes.

I can understand your disappointment at standing throughout your

journeys. However, rail fares do not guarantee a seat. The fare is for

travel on train companies' services between two stations. Although I

appreciate that it is more comfortable to travel sitting down, the same

fare applies in either case.

I understand your concerns about the perceived dangers of a crowded

train. I can assure you that, although it can be uncomfortable, a busy

train is no more dangerous than a quiet one. :lol: Safety takes priority

across the whole rail Industry and, quite simply, we will not run a

train if it is not safe to do so. I can confirm that currently there is

no legal limit to the number of people who can be carried on a train

(unlike a plane or bus); however we are aware of the implications with

regards to passenger comfort. The issue of health and safety has been

raised from time to time with the HSE's Railway Inspectorate. It is

believed that overcrowding is an issue of comfort and, although it is

less comfortable to stand, there is no significant additional safety

risk.

Please rest assured that I have recorded the details of your experience

for the attention of our planning department so that we may use your

comments constructively.

Kind Regards

Nicola Foster

Customer Service Advisor

Southeastern Railway

Customer Services

PO Box 286

Plymouth

PL4 6WU

My reply

Thanks for your reply . Please suggest to your bosses that they are for some unknown reason years behind European trains. Please get them to LEARN from there superiors across the channel as I have frequented the French, Dutch and German rail networks and found them to be as you would hope and expect them to run. It is almost surreal compared to my usual Uk experience.

I must reiterate one point I made. I do feel that overcrowding is dangerous, as for example, the inertia that would be generated if there was a derailment would be greater to those standing,therefore more likely to receive injuries. Furthermore, considering there are evil people who wish to harm the Uk commuter certain people would positively wish for a rampacked train. I will therefore be looking to change the law regarding this "no maximum"

Until i get a seat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nice!! Trains in the UK suck. I'm sure its a ploy to get people on the roads to then issue road charging due to congestion!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nice!! Trains in the UK suck. I'm sure its a ploy to get people on the roads to then issue road charging due to congestion!

Not only do they suck - they are grossly overpriced and expensive. I took a train last weekend for the first time in a year and was absolutely horrified at the cost - around a month of petrol for my car (daily communte plus shopping plus weekend trips) for a measly return for two from North Surrey to london :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even with Gordie's green tax factored in, it costs about the same to drive from my flat in York (15 minutes' walk from the station) to Teesside Airport, fly to Heathrow and thence into London on the tube as it does to buy a return rail ticket to King's Cross if you need to make the outward journey early in the morning. Leaving before 0930, you have to buy the full price £148 rail ticket, yet a seat on the 0640 flight, returning on the last one in the evening, can often be had for as little as £90. Furthermore, the plane is hardly ever delayed or canceled, whereas by the time I gave up on trains (except for journeys where there was no other viable choice), you were more likely than not to be delayed by several hours and/or have to stand for the whole two-hour journey.

So the railways are massively subsidised while air travel is massively taxed, yet air is STILL cheaper than rail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Yall

I just wanted to share the response I got from SE trains regarding passenger numbers, this bird is a dense as the core of neptune! What are we up against!

My 1st email

Nearly every day the 0822hrs and 0843hrs from Herne Hill to

Blackfriars is late and totally heaving with passengers. Health and

safety is completely out of the window with trains this laden. As a

monthly ticket holder travelling at rush hour I expect a seat from time

to time but I havent been able to enjoy this "seat" for months. How can

my ticket therefore cost the same as someone seated, there is clearly

not too much in the way of forecasting. What other services expect you

to pay the same for an inferior service....correct, just trains! Do

people stand on a plane when there isnt enough room?

As a ticket holder I expect the trains to run on time considering I did

not receive a 5% discount this quarter,as your apparent punctuality was

above the minimum which I find impossible to believe. Since when did

Peter Mandelson take charge of your statistics? What your company is

making possible is that your appalling service could cost me my job as

you continually deliver me late to my destination, thus to work. I

really hate your trains and your subsidy. The trains are shoddy, without

adequate seating, dirty, late and slow. If you are able to brighten my

dark travelling days with some proposed journey enhancement rhetoric I

await with breath baited.

South Eastern response

Thank you for your website feedback. I am sorry for any discomfort that

you have experienced during the course of your journeys because of

crowded conditions you have encountered. We do want our customers to

travel in comfort and appreciate the anxiety that is caused by such

conditions.

Like most commuter-focused operators, overcrowding is a problem for us.

The rail network in the South East area is currently working at full

capacity and so we are unable to run more frequent services. The number

of usable carriages we have is also finite. Certain services will

inevitably be much more popular than others and so our train planners

work hard to ensure that we deliver the appropriate amount of capacity

where the demand exists. However, there are occasions when trains are

short formed because of a shortage of suitable rolling stock, or

alternatively it may be necessary to utilise carriages from a longer

train when there is a shortage elsewhere, and I do apologise for the

inconvenience this causes.

I can understand your disappointment at standing throughout your

journeys. However, rail fares do not guarantee a seat. The fare is for

travel on train companies' services between two stations. Although I

appreciate that it is more comfortable to travel sitting down, the same

fare applies in either case.

I understand your concerns about the perceived dangers of a crowded

train. I can assure you that, although it can be uncomfortable, a busy

train is no more dangerous than a quiet one. :lol: Safety takes priority

across the whole rail Industry and, quite simply, we will not run a

train if it is not safe to do so. I can confirm that currently there is

no legal limit to the number of people who can be carried on a train

(unlike a plane or bus); however we are aware of the implications with

regards to passenger comfort. The issue of health and safety has been

raised from time to time with the HSE's Railway Inspectorate. It is

believed that overcrowding is an issue of comfort and, although it is

less comfortable to stand, there is no significant additional safety

risk.

Please rest assured that I have recorded the details of your experience

for the attention of our planning department so that we may use your

comments constructively.

Kind Regards

Nicola Foster

Customer Service Advisor

Southeastern Railway

Customer Services

PO Box 286

Plymouth

PL4 6WU

My reply

Thanks for your reply . Please suggest to your bosses that they are for some unknown reason years behind European trains. Please get them to LEARN from there superiors across the channel as I have frequented the French, Dutch and German rail networks and found them to be as you would hope and expect them to run. It is almost surreal compared to my usual Uk experience.

I must reiterate one point I made. I do feel that overcrowding is dangerous, as for example, the inertia that would be generated if there was a derailment would be greater to those standing,therefore more likely to receive injuries. Furthermore, considering there are evil people who wish to harm the Uk commuter certain people would positively wish for a rampacked train. I will therefore be looking to change the law regarding this "no maximum"

Until i get a seat

Been there, done that, waste of time. The rail companies get zillions of complaints, they couldn't give a sh1t. They are cr@p companies run by cr@p people.

The only thing that will get their attention is people not using them anymore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Which is not viable due to the location of housing relative to jobs.

As an aside, I discovered that a 1st class only costs £2 more each way on my line, kicking the costs from £170/m to £250/m for a monthly pass. This almost guarantees a seat, and one that I can fit in at that!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BTW, what is the headquarters of South Eastern Rail doing in Plymouth? Are they all geographically challenged, or do their managers believe that if they have their workplace anywhere near the site of their actual operations, they're liable to be lynched by a mob of enraged commuters?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • 355 The Prime Minister stated that there were three Brexit options available to the UK:

    1. 1. Which of the Prime Minister's options would you choose?


      • Leave with the negotiated deal
      • Remain
      • Leave with no deal



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.