House Price Crash Forum

Bears And Bulls Unite!

HOLA441

I came to this site whilst researching house prices when working for a developer. Specifically, I was trying to assess risk in our development pipeline, and was wondering if we had ‘costed’ the risk sufficiently in our longer term projects.

I have for a while thought that house prices were interesting – I have witnessed a housing bust (although I was very young) that cost my father his business and home (although this was more to do with the general recession than house prices only), and it became apparent a long time ago that I was also now witnessing a housing boom.

Learning about finance and debt (some of it the hard way) put the price of houses in stark relief; the fundamentals of the market appear to anyone with an ounce of common to be worryingly skewed. What also dawned on me, with some sense of irony, was that I became a bear on housing whilst needing to be planted resolutely in the bull camp. As a developer, my bosses wanted to hear nothing but good news (but this is another story), but the more I read, the more I appreciated the unsustainable nature of the situation – something has to give.

What I want is agreement from all here on the fundamentals. Do both bulls and bears agree that:

Houses are overprices (offering poor value)

House price inflation is continuing at an unsustainable level

No fundamental has yet to change enough to stop HPI showing +iv in the reports.

HPI is causing social problems.

I have to say, that at the moment, I am still reasonably bullish on prices. I think that the falls are a while away at the moment, and until there is a step change in a fundamental component, then we will continue to see rises. However, I am still bearish in the mid-term, and I firmly believe that HPI at this level, with this economic background, has been a disaster.