House Price Crash Forum

No Current Speculation From Within Of A Big Crash

HOLA441

Saw this on another forum: LINK

I'm a bank manager and certainly there is NO current speculation from within of a big crash. House prices are still rising and people still want to buy. A large amount of the country's wealth is held on secured lending against property and a crash would be catastrophic. The Bank of England won't let it happen - simple as that.

Start off small tbh, we bought a large 2 bed ground floor flat in hartlepool with private back garden and own drive for £57k in 2004 and sold it for £63k 2 years later, buying a massive 3 bed semi with potential up to 6 double bedrooms for £143k. Neither were new-build (avoid tbh - v.expensive and not as good build quality as 60's stuff) and the flat wasn't in the best area, however, the more that are sold, the better the area becomes as people like yourself start moving in. Don't stretch yourself too far either - you'll have to repair and maintain the place and that costs you.

Our website has a fairly useful mortgage calculator and HSBC is now very conservative on it's lending policies anyway - click here and the 2nd page gives you an idea of how much you could/should borrow up to.

Bank manager says no crash - prices rising - people still want to buy - BOE won't let it crash.

Edited by clv101

HOLA442

Bank manager says no crash - prices rising - people still want to buy - BOE won't let it crash.

This sounds exactly like Reggie Potts, the Hartlepool bank manager who, in 1989, said that the government would not allow house prices to crash. There followed Great Crash 1, the precursor to the current crash now underway.

Silly bugger, Merv and the Muppets have as much control over world credit markets as they do over the economic cycle. Bust always follows boom--always has, always will. Its natural just like constipation if you eat too much cheese.

HOLA443