House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
jules25

Best Course Of Action For Hm Forces?

We are in Married Quarters with the Army and we have the obvious advantage of being in extremly cheap accommodation. I would love us to have our own home though and we have been waiting for this crash for two years, now I'm worried that we should be getting something whilst the rates are at their current level, we could afford more mortgage (fixed rate) now than we could in a years time, so even if the houses are cheaper, we might not benefit because we would have a smaller mortgage. I hope I'm making sense!!

The other option we have looked into is taking out a mortgage against our in laws house and then perhaps squirreling that away till the prices come down? I'm not sure what the tax implications of that would be or even if you are allowed to do that but I can't think of anything else!!

Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Jules x

Jules,

I'm no expert, and the reason for my reply is mainly to bump your post which was posted on a particularly quiet day and may have been missed.

For what it's worth, I wouldn't dream of using in-laws property to mortgage. That could lead to a whole world of pain later!

If you can get fixed for the full term of the loan at a reasonable rate, and can comfortably afford it, and are secure in your profession, then maybe take the plunge.

However, my gut feeling is that we're about to witness falls at least as great as the last crash. You may get somewhere for half the price you've seen it advertised for today. OK, the interest might be higher later, but just think how much money you have to borrow now.....

Hopefully more knowledgeable posters will add their tuppence worth.

I think the biggest problem with these types of posts is that predominantly you are asking people who believe there will be a crash and are now seeing very good signs that this is indeed close (if not already started - Q1 07).

The answers most likely will be