House Price Crash Forum
killerbee

Is Your Cash Safe If The Worst Happens.

Hi all,

Some on here suggest the downturn is going to be on the scale of 1929, now since I have no experience of this event I was wondering what happened to the value of cash during the great depression. Also where did the smart money go?

(I thinking I ought to get ready for a dose of financial indigestion)

killerbee.

Edited by killerbee

Hi all,

Some on here suggest the downturn is going to be on the scale of 1929, now since I have no experience of this event I was wondering what happened to the value of cash during the great depression. Also where did the smart money go?

(I thinking I ought to get ready for a dose of financial indegestion)

killerbee.

Assets went down in value (stocks, houses). Gold went up (USD needed to be revalued at more USD per oz gold).

Assets went down in value (stocks, houses). Gold went up (USD needed to be revalued at more USD per oz gold).

shame gold was confiscated in the US before it was revalued upward.

The modus operandi of the financial elite is to deflate asset prices

such as houses and shares suddenly by calling in the credit which

they issued to inflate the bubble in the first place.

Then when the dust has settled devalue the currency, taking out any

wealth that was kept in cash.

The only real safe haven is non-leveraged tangible assets,

such as gold, silver, coffee beans etc.

It happened in the depression, the 70s, the 90s, and it will likely

happen again this time around.

Edited by Dr Doom

The situation is a bit different from 1929 because US government did not guarantee bank deposits then. If a bank folded, depositors could lose everything, whereas today in the UK our cash up to 35k with each bank is guaranteed (I think 90% or so of the value is guaranteed).

So we will probably not lose our cash as happened to some in the great depression.

The worry is whether inflation will be making the cash worthless.