House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest absolutezero

A Sure Sign Of Trouble Ahead

Guest absolutezero

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/6240684.stm

OK. It's only in Scotland but there's similar things going on in England too.

I'm a physics teacher. Got my job about 5 years ago and there were two applicants for the job.

This year we advertised for a science teacher and we had 20 applicants.

As far as I know, teaching becomes more popular during times of recession and the like.

Is this a sign of things to come?

Or is it simply that the government has done the same thing with teachers as they've done with doctors, i.e. trained up far more teachers than there are jobs for, and the newly qualifieds are now starting to flood the job market?

Guest absolutezero
Or is it simply that the government has done the same thing with teachers as they've done with doctors, i.e. trained up far more teachers than there are jobs for, and the newly qualifieds are now starting to flood the job market?

Not quite sure that's what went on.

A few years ago people just did not want to teach and teacher training courses had difficulty filling up. This had a knock on effect on the takeup of jobs.

The attitude was 'I can earn more doing something else'. Perhaps now there isn't really 'anything else'.

Has the economy taken a turn for the worse and people are after secure jobs that pay well?

But surely you can't just apply for a teaching job if you don't have a teaching qualification? AFAIK, you have to have a PGCE or equivalent. So if there is a sudden increase in applications for teaching posts, either that means that there are a large number of qualified teachers who are currently doing other jobs and want to move back into teaching (possible, I guess), or a large number of newly qualified teachers are coming onto the job market for the first time.

Guest absolutezero