House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Objective Developer

A Revision Of The Planning System

As some of you know, I work as a town planner, and as such get a fair amount of stick for the planning systems role in stoking HPI though land restrictions.

So, if the planning system were to be revised, as is suggested by Barker et al, what kinds of things would you like to see? I’d be genuinely interested to know as it seems like reform is coming anyway, and I’ll try my best to offer a response to the issues raised.

Cheers in advance…

[1] tree sound barriers. What are the rules on them?

We've got a bit of land the other side of the canal from us and they ripped down the mature trees that provided a sound barrier. They've applied for permission to fence it off now stating "no trees will be cut down"

Obviously because they've already cut the trees down.

There's supposed to be a earth bank and trees protecting us from noise - but what there is doesn't work so anything they're going to do over there will create noise over here.

If planning was relaxed they could presumably build anything they wanted there - a tesco for instance ( I think its supposed to be non food retail but is storage of metal cabins etc which obviously isn't retail.)

[2] What regulations are there for providing play areas on new build estates?

[3] What protects green spaces in an area?

So, if the planning system were to be revised, as is suggested by Barker et al, what kinds of things would you like to see? I’d be genuinely interested to know as it seems like reform is coming anyway, and I’ll try my best to offer a response to the issues raised.