House Price Crash Forum

What Have You Chosen,a Pension, A House, A Child, Or A Degree

Unfortunately under New Labour we have to make one of three choices in life, but we cannot have all.

We must decide on whether we should save for a pension, save for a house, save for an education, or save to have a child.

One thing is for sure, 15years ago we could have them all, today its either one or the other.

Thank you Tony and Gordon.

Guest absolutezero

I'm having three out of your four options.

I have a degree.

I'm paying into the teachers' pension scheme and I'm saving for a house, which I shall buy in a few years' time with only a small mortgage.

I have no intention of having children. Partly because they're too expensive and because working in a school all day has put me off - they're too much hassle/hard work and I don't have a paternal bone in my body.

Unfortunately under New Labour we have to make one of three choices in life, but we cannot have all.

We must decide on whether we should save for a pension, save for a house, save for an education, or save to have a child.

One thing is for sure, 15years ago we could have them all, today its either one or the other.

I have a degree (and professional quals), flat and a pension

Children too expensive - My girlfriend disagrees but whenever it comes up in conversation a concert or visit to the theatre soon has here having second thoughts as childcare is limited and extremely expensive. This means she would have to compromise her lifestyle.

Good post Laurejon.

I never voted labour in and was lucky enough to grow up in the Thatcher years so I made a choice and took 3 of the 4.

I made the right choice by not taking the pension ;)

Excellent post BTW.

House = Yes

Pension = In progress

Education = Yes

Children = In progress