House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Drewboy

Key Workers

Good afternoon to eveyone.

As a Soldier serving in Germany i would like to highlight an area that has become apparent to myself as being totaly unjust. We are without a doubt the lowest paid of all the so called key workers that Mr Blair and his croonies like to pretend are his favorites. If we are even considered as key workers by certain districts. As i have found out whilst trying to buy when i visited friends in Wales. I found two properties that had come up for purchase built for the sole purpose of key workers. When i enquired to the local council (Dyfed) i was informed that apparently that because i was a soldier a didnt qualify. ********. We have also fallen into the trap of morgage companys who will not take my spouses wage into consideration because she gets paid tax free.

We have come to the conclusion that it is no longer a benifit to ourselves to stay in the Military for either financial reasons or stability as we are away so often now that it makes almost impossible to plan a move or even look for a property.

The only option now for most serving soldiers is to emigrate and i can assure you this is happening more and more as countries like Austrlia are willing to take soldiers leaving from the services.

Why am i so rattled. Because i have just watched the news and learnt that the good old school teaching profesion is threatining to go on strike for a further ten percent wage increase because there workers cant afford to buy property. All this plus six or seven weeks paid summer holidays. My heart bleeds for their misfortune.

Get a life and stop holding the UK to ransome.

You could be forgiven for thinking that you were Firemen.

Drew

:ph34r: