House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Dak

I've Just Str - Now, What To Do With 100k?

Hi,

First up, apologies, as I'm a complete novice when it comes to finiancial nous and I'm trying to get up to spec fast.

Having perused this site for a while (after becoming disenchanted with the madness that is flat buying in London) I have decided to STR with the intention of reassessing the situation in 12 months time.

So, can anyone offer me any advice as to what to do with the £100k I've been lucky enough to come out with?

I'm guessing filling up an ISA allowance to begin with. But what else?

easy simple risk free way would be to put it in a high interest instant access account, you can get 6.05% that way.

if you have family members you trust that dont work, you can give the money to them, they bank it, and then you would not pay tax on it (as long as interest is lower than the base rate of income tax ect)

Thanks for the advice. Yes, I'm going to try to put most of it in a safe savings account. I'm also looking at pumping into A&L's premier regular saver for 12 months for 12% gross.

re relatives, my brother has a fair amount of spare cash that he's looking to do someting with and back when I was looking to buy, he wanted to come in with me and add to my deposit with the hope of me paying him back plus gains after selling the property three or four years down the line.

I was reluctant to do this due to the tax implciations but, it got me thinking, how do all these parents/relatives get round helping their offspring out with deposits etc without incurring the wrath of the taxman?

I spoke to a few poeple I work with who've had parents help them out and all seem to ignorant of any tax implications. Am I being an idiot here or are all these Mums and Dads going to get stung when they come to get paid back? And even if they just "gift" the money, aren't there all sorts of tax implications here?