House Price Crash Forum
philip999

Are Rents Going Up?

Increasing rent is quoted in the media about as often as petrol prices. I have been renting now for over three years and, as I become increasing tight ar*ed during this time, have been paying less and less every year for rent. I now pay £400 pcm and only £865 pa council tax (2 bed house with garden). I have moved around alot but was wondering what the forums experiences are of rent. Are there any stats to back up the media available. Or, is it just a pro-buy strategy from VIs. I appreciate hearing about any experiences you have had.

Ive noticed they have gone up in some areas because ive been looking to move, but most of the letting agents have told me that because im not a student they will probably reduce the rent anyway.

About seven years ago I paid 880 quid a month for a two bed flat in Balham with a cold damp bedroom.

Then one year later I paid 1000 per month for a small one-bed in Queensway. Then moved to big damp dark 1-bed flat in Kensington for 950 pcm.

Have recently moved to a very nice 2-bed recently refurbished flat in West Dulwich, 12 minutes from Victoria. Pretty much equivalent to the Balham one, I'd say, and slightly cheaper in nominal terms.

In 7 years then, I've had static/falling rents. Assuming a steady growth of 5% in rents, I would have been expecting to be paying about 1250/month.

About seven years ago I paid 880 quid a month for a two bed flat in Balham with a cold damp bedroom.

Then one year later I paid 1000 per month for a small one-bed in Queensway. Then moved to big damp dark 1-bed flat in Kensington for 950 pcm.

Have recently moved to a very nice 2-bed recently refurbished flat in West Dulwich, 12 minutes from Victoria. Pretty much equivalent to the Balham one, I'd say, and slightly cheaper in nominal terms.

In 7 years then, I've had static/falling rents. Assuming a steady growth of 5% in rents, I would have been expecting to be paying about 1250/month.