House Price Crash Forum
OMG

London 2012?

Hi

I'm not sure whether I'm a bull or a bear yet so pls bear with me.

I've been sweating over a HPC for about four years. This is after we sold our flat in Stoke Newington (that had already doubled in value) and swapped it (about £20K more) for a nice Victorian Terrace in East London with 3 large beds and 3 large receptions. At that time I felt an complete idiot for buying at the height of a boom so much so that we got a fixed mortgage at 5.5% for 5 years to cover the anticipated hike in interest rates. But to my complete amazement nothng happened and our new house has gone up by a further £50-£100K since.

We've a redemption on the mortgage with is around £6K and runs out in October 2007. As we recently downshifted and moved to Worcestershire where we now rent a house we've decided to let it out rather than pay the £6K; we're breaking even, which is good taking into account our large mortgage.

What we can't figure out is what, if any, artifical underpinning the 2012 games will have on our prices. Interestingly in my area a lot of the houses have all been taken off the market I presume in anticipation for getting big bucks 2 or 3 years before the games when the stadium starts getting built and people remember that the games are actually taking place.

One minute I'm urgent to sell NOW and screw the redemption, popping the 50% equity that we have in the bank and wait for prices to drop and buy here in Worcestershire. On the other hand I just want to keep my pretty victorian house that's in East London, 30 mins from the City, with woods and large open green spaces at the end of the road, near the Olympics and which is 90% cheaper than something similar in - say - Fulham. It'll make a nice pension and give us the option of living in London again should we ever want to (which at the moment is about a far from reality as I can imagine)