House Price Crash Forum
landlord

A Landlords View

I have been reading this site for a while now, and although i find it very informative, i dissagree with the overriding message/prediction which is ofcourse that we are in for a housing crash. Let me explain:

I have been a professional landlord now for around 8 years, and I can think of no better investment. It has made me a very rich man. My properties are in the Liverpool area, and what i have found in this time period is that property as an investment is now very mainstream and very highly percievied. The market is thus underpinned now by far greater number of professional landlords who have deep enough pockets to see through any mild interest rate hikes (ie up to say 6-7%). Anyone expecting a repeat of the 1990 fiasco will be left waiting as the world no longer operates in such a naive manner. Interest rates are not a goverment tool but that of an independed body.

My prediction is that the market will stay steady for a few more years, that interest rates will either peak at the current level 4.75 or 5.0. After say 2 years, there will be a slight interest rate fall, and the market will make up the years of slow growth (2004-2008) by sudden double figure price rises. All my fellow landlords are just sitting tight now waiting for the next cycle of price rises. Crashes only happen when people panic, and this current housing market is controlled too much by bigger players who will not allow that to happen.

I agree that those left off the housing ladder times are hard, but there are always emerging areas where prices are low and set to rise. I am now finding that some areas which used to be no-go areas are now becoming hot spots, with great profit prospects.

I have been reading this site for a while now, and although i find it very informative, i dissagree with the overriding message/prediction which is ofcourse that we are in for a housing crash. Let me explain: