House Price Crash Forum
CrashedOutAndBurned

Raving Through The Recession

I've been predicting for several years that art, music and youth culture would change as we entered a recessionary phase. Back in the early 90s recession illegal raves and free festivals led the way. I've been wondering when those branded urban kids would start leaving Lloyds Bars alone and start raving, and when those American-themed emo kids would start getting matted hair and anarcho-punk tshirts.

Why? Because these forms of entertainment are cheap and easy to put on. Truck with big PA hanging off the back. People. Off you go. With so many young people unemployed or under employed, the idea of spending your meagre wages getting sloshed at a bland superclubs or Wetherspoons becomes despressingly crap.

Already my predictation seems to be coming true.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/5296026.stm

My next prediction is that if the State cracks down too hard on emerging recessionary counter cultures there's going to be a massive amount of civil unrest. Young people have it miles worse than people their age in the 70s, 80s and 90s but there's been barely a riot during the noughties (just one incredibly peaceful anti-war march of 1.5million that the State brushed off like some gnat). Heck, old codgers moaning about their pensions have been putting better demos than the young. Just wait until someone lights the fuse.

Edited by CrashedOutAndBurned

I've been predicting for several years that art, music and youth culture would change as we entered a recessionary phase. Back in the early 90s recession illegal raves and free festivals led the way. I've been wondering when those branded urban kids would start leaving Lloyds Bars alone and start raving, and when those American-themed emo kids would start getting matted hair and anarcho-punk tshirts.