House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Shedfish

Bearing Up

Guest Shedfish

Investment advice for a complete duffer

my knowledge of economics has gone from plankton to very small fish. i could possibly be an instance of the 'shoeshine boy speculator'.

now i know some express the view that (brigands like) HPC have allegedly talked people out of making an otherwise astute decision (e.g buying a house)... my own mind was made up before i discovered HPC. IMO this place is a necessary counterbalance to some of the crap elsewhere, but ultimately any decisions and their repercussions are my responsibility.

basically i've been saving for a couple of years, into a reasonable internet savings account. recently realised that:

i'm going to be saving a while longer (probably another year)

what i've saved so far is not growing fast enough

a bloody long-winded way really, of asking what some of the more astute investors on here might suggest, as somewhere to put a few k of my savings for a year or so. been watching Bloomberg recently. everything looks BAD investment wise. everyone's been talking up metals... gold looks like a no-go. silver looked ok last time i looked, but what do i know...?

not averse to higher risks necessarily, since i'm not gambling the whole deposit away. also, any thoughts on alternative currencies to the £ welcome

thanks!

read read read!

shares magazine , and investors chronicle are the weekly journals available.

There are also various books about investing - they are recommended by other posters on this forum

in the back of shares magazine, for example, look under the FTSE large and mide cap tables, and what £1000 invested 3 years ago is worth now (+reinvesting dividends)