House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
lnicol01

I Need All Your Expertise And Advise.....

Hello all,

My dad owns and lives in a 2 beds apartment on the south coast near Napoli in Italy.

He was brought up there - his parents bought it over 70 years ago. He was telling me that similar properties in the same road have sold for over 300,000 Euro ( 10 years ago when I was still living there, it was not worth more than the equivalent of £ 20,000).

This is the dilemma, he is thinking to sell it to cash in, while the property madness bug is still in full swing over there.

He has asked me if I can help him with some money to buy a much smaller flat in a less popular location so that he can sell the bigger flat so he can repay me back straight away.

My main worry is that if I lend him all the saving that my husband and I have been saving for the past 7 years and then the property market crashes in italy just before he can sell his family place, we will scapper any possible chance to ever own our home here.

My dads reckons that he needs cash in his hand to buy another place there as everything seems to sell like hot cake - it is not like here that you pay for your next house only when you get the money from your current place.

I fully trust my dad with my savings, but I am not sure about the property market trends on the continent.

Here is pretty evident that stagnation/recession is in full course ( if we ignore all the spins), but my questions are:

how much ahead is Britain compared to Europe?

is it a safe move for me helping my dad now?

how higher can properties can still go in italy before the big crunch?

and when it becomes common knowledge that we are going to have a massive correction here - ( which i believe it's already happening) will it then affect the property markets globally?

All your help and advise will be greatly appreciated

Ciao

Luisa

Hi