House Price Crash Forum
Alfonzo

Effect Of The Internet..

Been watching this forum with a mixture of delight, amusement, anger and fear over the last few months or so. I've been predicting house price disasters since 1999! :D but have to admit (difficult as it is) that I'm prone to 'The End of The World is Nigh' type attitude upon occasion, although normally a pretty upbeat type of chap..

Anyway, what are your thoughts concerning the influence of the Internet on house price movement as opposed to the last property crash? By this I mean the speed and ease of communication between us all that now exists, it seems to me that events could happen much quicker due to the ease at which emotions and sentiment can pass about via websites and forums such as this..

Back in the early '90's it was chats in the pub & reading the press for all your information - the Net has really been a godsend for allowing debate forums to be shared. It also provides a great source of girly pics too, apparently.. :rolleyes:

The web is a great tool for searching for property.

Not a huge advantage for those looking to buy in an area they already know or live...but for those looking to relocate the web is a God send.

I check rightmove (among others) every day just in case a house comes onto the market that matches my requirements. I dare say many others do to.

I suppose the only problem with the internet is that bears tend only to notice what they want to see :D

The Web makes it so much easier to investigate house prices and job markets abroad and get very up to date info. :) I am also checking out advice from the locals of course, and using Web sites of Estate Agents who sell to the locals, not just the ones whose business is aimed at foreign investors.

The Web also has great potential for organising collective action and protests (www.pricedout.org.uk). Unfortuately there's not much it can do to overcome problems of apathy.