House Price Crash Forum
Tassy

Cornwall Crisis?

I am a newbie but have watched the housing market with interest for a bout 6 years now. I am extremely worried about Cornwall. It is evident that, whilst estate agents are overvaluing, houses are not shifting fast. The only properties I know are shifting are realistically priced ones. I have seen some properties on the market for 2 years plus.

My main concern is the 'con' which is potentially going to affect those of us who already live here even more and also those planning on relocating or retiring here. I call it a 'con' because Cornwall is actively being marketed as a dream retirement and relocation destination by those who offer relocation services and certain agents. One website, www.propertiescornwall.co.uk have a bit of worrying blurb.

They say, 'Relocation is becoming very popular...' and list all the great things, like the environment, (pre-incinerator!) and lifestyle opportunities. They go on to say, 'Although a small county', (sorry it's a Duchy!), 'all the amenities required for modern life can easily be found, broadband, leading brand supermarkets, good schools and healthcare...' Our schools are in the process of being amalgamated due to the notion of falling rolls. Village schools, like Lanreath I believe, are being threatened with closure. The county council already gets loads of transport appeals from people who have relocated down here and then find they can't get their kids into a local school. Education transport I further believe is possibly the biggest or one of the biggest county council expenditures already. Where and indeed how are all the children whose families are planning to relocate to the good life going to go to school?