House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
neilbertuk

Affordable Housing For Civil Servants

If there are any PCS union members there...

Wonderful site, one of the few places where people seem unaffected by the mdness surrounding the housing market.

I've recently had informal conversations with my union rep (I'm a customs officer near Heathrow) and with the planning office at Surrey county council. Both have expressed an interest in an idea I've had of setting up a self-build association for low-cost housing in Surrey for members of the PCS.

If, like me, you don't want a house as an investment, or a pension plan, but simply as a decent place to live, and if you are a civil servant living in the south east, contact me at neilbertuk@yahoo.co.uk. The more people who respond, the greater effect we'll have.

Regards

Neil

Your biggest cost is high costs land, no housing association will get round that, unless you can buy a field and get planning permisson on it...

Excellent idea, im a civil servant too but unfortunately in the North West so not much help im afraid. Good luck in your project though.

Ummm, I am a tax payer and pay your wages. Why should I not get a cheap house as well?

Ummm, I am a tax payer and pay your wages. Why should I not get a cheap house as well?

Exactly, civil servants already get paid as much for less work, get more security, better pensions and mostly retire earlier.... (subject of course to exceptions) - why should they get other perks denied to the people who pay their wages...

Because his union enables group action and coordinated pressure, and he's willing to try doing something? Bit like pricedout?