House Price Crash Forum
tekken

A Good Use Of Io Mortgages

Hello all,

Please bear with me, as I'm no expert when it comes to mortgages. I'm looking to buy a property. Anyway, over that last 18 months or so, I have become very good at saving and not wasting my money. I have developed some self-control that has meant that I can save really well. Would it be better for me to get an IO mortgage, and keep on saving my average 600-1000 per month (that's after £500 rent, bills, car, social, etc...) to make lumpsome payments on the mortgage?

Does that seem like a good idea? My initial monthly payments will be lower, and I can focus on saving. Now, with an IO mortgage, can I make as many payments to the principal debt as I want? For example, I sometimes get involved in projects that require me to do lots of extra time, therefore some months I will have a fair amount of cash that I could pump in the repaying the house. Does this seem like a sensible way to go? I think I understand the potential pitfalls with this system, but it seems like the benefits are far greater and out weight the negative. I know that this kind of system is a real test of character, but I firmly believe that I can do it.

The reason why I thought about this, was down to a friend showing how much of the principal loan is actually paid in the first 10 years of the mortgage on a repayment mortgage- very little!!! I was shocked.

Any advice would be great.

Tekken

tekken

For the financially diciplined, I think that IOs are fine - indeed I would consider one when I next buy :)

If you can control youself then there are no pitfalls in my opinion. If I had one, I'd value the lower monthly obligation, whilst squirelling away each month in overpayments. This is how I'd use an IO rather than an accompanying investment vehicle (I have other stock market investments so wouldn't want to pin every aspect of my financial future on Mr Market).