House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Greenback

What Drives Hastings

I am a resident of St.Leonards with a general interest in property. Having watched the market for fifteen years, I think I have an idea of what drives Hastings property values.

First I should say I believe Hastings offers good value compared to the rest of the South East. Land Registry figures confirm this with Hastings 34% lower than the average for the South East and 20% lower than England/Wales. The reason for this ‘good value’ is, unsurprisingly, poor wages and transport links little better than some third world countries. London commuters play a large part in inflating the market but poor communications will go some way to countering this effect until a motorway is built or the rail link upgraded. Don’t hold your breath waiting for either!