House Price Crash Forum
jaay

How Often Does This Happen?

i have been browsing this site for about 6 months or so and have noticed that a number of recent posters seem to be getting very exited about an apparent media u-turn and are confidently predicting that the horse has now bolted and a fall in prices is iminent - i just wanted to know whether those more experienced posters have noticed a real change in the past couple of months or whether they have seen it all before... :huh:

I've seen it come & go before, but this doesn't mean it's without foundation. Any excitement is usually caused by genuine pointers in the 'right' direction from independent stats/anecdotes/media articles etc. It's a slow process mind.

What you see is a general drip drip of factors that will lead to a HPC, IMO it's not any one thing that will do it but the slow build up of various factors

Something that's quite significant is the majority of people (according to several recent surveys) think that IRs are on the way up sometime soon.

Last year, economists were shouting from the rooftops that the direction of IRs was down. No doubt about it, no question. You'd be "silly" to think otherwise, even though many on this Board did.

Now, it's either a hold or a rise projected by most, and the public think so too.

It isn't just about what rates do in any one month that makes a difference, it's the direction people think they are going in that makes people think twice about indebting themselves to the max.

i have been browsing this site for about 6 months or so and have noticed that a number of recent posters seem to be getting very exited about an apparent media u-turn and are confidently predicting that the horse has now bolted and a fall in prices is iminent - i just wanted to know whether those more experienced posters have noticed a real change in the past couple of months or whether they have seen it all before... :huh: