House Price Crash Forum

Inflation V Deflation.

HOLA441

I’m no expert, but it seems to me that the Weston World is walking a precipice. On the one hand higher interest rates could push us into recession, depression, or slump. On the other hand lower rates could lead us into inflation or hyperinflation.

For those in debt the former would be a catastrophe, the latter a godsend.

For those with savings the reverse is true.

IMO the governments and bankers can only react as events unfold.

Which way does history tell us it will go?

What do you think?

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

HOLA442

I’m no expert, but it seems to me that the Weston World is walking a precipice. On the one hand higher interest rates could push us into recession, depression, or slump. On the other hand lower rates could lead us into inflation or hyperinflation.

What do you think?

Stagflation is the name of the game. Supply side shock...we've had a supply side bonus from China for the last few years and I think we've (well Gordon Brown) has taken it for granted. Suddnely a shock hits and he looks clueless (but it's not his fault apparently, well actually Gordon, the shock isn't your fault, but a failure to prepare the economy is. Numpty)

HOLA443

I don't agree that depression or recession is a godsend for those with savings, a disaster for those in debt. Recession is bad for anyone, with or without savings, who loses their job or has their earnings cut as a result.

(Presumably you're meaning deflation rather than simple recession, as in the thread title, in which case it is a more complicated question, though it's unlikely to occur without being accompanied by recession)

Also inflation is only a godsend for those in debt if wage inflation keeps pace with price inflation, unlikely in these times.

So I don't really agree with the question. But for what it's worth I think we might manage a bit of both, inflation with recession = stagflation.

HOLA444