House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
philip979

Madness In Newcastle!

Hi

Have been an avid lurker on this site for about two years now, but this is only my second post (or so). I have been based in Newcastle for several years, and I rent. I am very bearish about property however I cannot understand what is going on in my immediate area.

Four houses have been snapped up on my street within the last four weeks or so, in a middle-of-the-road area that is Heaton (NE6). These are all terraced properties, popular with landlords to rent to the students. I can't understand who would have bought them, as I believe the market is way overheated and ready for a fall (although I've been saying this for at least two years, and I'm starting to wonder). I can't believe they are viable as BTL: one 3 bed was asking for offers over 170k and would probably only make £650-£780 pcm, sold promptly but it was/is a dump - prob needs 20k spending on it. I see so many "for sale" signs in the area and very quickly they become "sold" or "under offer". One recently sold property had loads of rubbish in the front garden FFS! I know nothing is strictly sold until contracts are exchanged, however I am yet to see one come back on the market. None are on Nethouseprices yet btw.

I simply can't work it out. It seems as if the market (at least in this neighbourhood!) is buoyant. Who is buying them? Can't help thinking they are perhaps the "last fools" but I really can't see any of this ending. I really hope I'm right (that there will be a "crash"). Why should a house that was well under £100k five years ago be approaching £200k now?!